1 Bataur

Enescu Octet Analysis Essay

Enescu acknowledged that his String Octet, written when he was nineteen years old, was a transitional work, coming as it did between his highly accomplished juvenilia (he had written four worthy "Study" Symphonies by the age of sixteen) and the first appearance of his mature voice. The experience of his early large-scale scores bears impressive fruit in the Octet, a work of nearly three-quarters of an hour in length, and one which exploits Enescu's mastery of counterpoint to the fullest.

Enescu later noted the difficulty he had in marshalling his musical forces for this work. That's not surprising given the task he set for himself of encompassing within a four-movement structure the elements of a single, sonata-form movement, much in the manner of Schubert's "Wanderer" Fantasy. The opening movement presents no fewer than six themes which will form the basis of the entire work. In addition, there are other features that will recur, including the relentless, pulsing pedal point heard right at the outset, over which the first theme, with its characteristic descending major sixth, is sung unison by massed strings. This rhythmic pulse becomes the engine that drives the contrapuntal web spun by Enescu's eight players, each of which is treated as a full-fledged soloist. The texture is rich, often dense (an episode in 3/4 time in the first movement is accompanied by such an intricate weft of counterpoint that there is the suggestion of delicate tone clusters), and hyper-Romantic in feeling.

Most remakable is how the Octet partakes of some very up-to-the-minute developments in music. Enescu was in Vienna between 1888 and 1893, studying theory under Robert Fuchs, who also taught Mahler, Wolf, Schreker and Zemlinsky, and it's not inconceivable that the younger Enescu was well-attuned to the radical changes in music wrought by his Viennese colleagues.

Already in the first movement, the six themes are not so much developed (they retain a certain resistant quality throughout the Octet) as they are fragmented and recombined, producing, as it were, a sort of infinitely variable "meta-theme," giving the work thematic unity (and helping the listener keep his bearings in the counterpoint!) while keeping it from straying into monotony. This sophisticated material, with its suggestions both of Roumanian and Gypsy music and of the cosmopolitan boulevards of Europe, represents Enescu's biggest advance to date as a composer.

The relatively brief scherzo is packed with aggressive unison activity, alternating with heavily chromatic, often dissonant passages. Its busy, forward-looking music is succeeded by the serene slow movement, a long, rhapsodic melody accompanied by simple, repeated chords (which are related to the pulsing pedal notes of the first movement). An agitated bridge passage, with fragments of the themes sounding over tremolando strings, leads to the finale, in which the rhythmic impulse that has driven the work now breaks forth as a delirious waltz ("Mouvement de valse bien rythmee"). The themes, in increasingly intricate ways, recombine as the movement is carried forward. The climax is an impressive peroration of the "meta-theme" over the driving pedal point, anticipating by a full fifteen years a similar dramatic moment at the climax of Zemlinsky's second string quartet.


Georges Enescu

String Octet in C Major, Op.7

Georges Enescu's Octet for strings was hailed as an amazing accomplishment for a young man of nineteen, and indeed it is. This epic work combines the musical language of the late romantic era with the emerging new language of polyphony. Enescu wrote that he set out to create a vast work and he admitted it was quite hard for him to achieve what he had set out to do, "No engineer putting his first suspension bridge across a river can have agonized more than I did as I gradually filled my manuscript paper with notes." But the final result was truly astounding.

Enescu (1881-1955) was a child prodigy on the violin and also the piano. He entered the Vienna Conservatory at age seven graduating at age 13. The next year he continued his studies at the Paris Conservatory. He became a violin virtuoso and famous teacher of the violin, but also devoted himself to composition. He is remembered today mostly for his two Romanian Rhapsodies for Orchestra, but he wrote in virtually every genre and produced a considerable amount of fine chamber music.

The Octet, completed in 1900, was published four years later. The expansive main theme to the opening movement Très modéré, gives a clear indication that composer intends a work on the grand scale. The second subject is presented in canonic form. Enescu combines sophisticated melody with a touch of Romanian folk music. The explosive second movement, as the title clearly suggests, Très fougueux, is a massive fugue. The beautiful slow movement, Lentement, which follows is in the form of a mysterious nocturne. The finale, Movt de Valse bien rhthmé. is an extraordinary and wild waltz which combines many of the themes of the earlier movements into a stunning synthesis.

A powerful work of genius. If it were to be performed in concert, it would undoubtedly bring down the house. Though it is not a particularly easy work, it is by no means beyond the range of good amateur players, who will certainly thrill to the opportunity of playing it. Never easy to obtain, we are pleased to make this incredible octet available.

(A) Parts US & Non US Addresses$55.95
(B) Parts & Score US Addresses$99.95
(C) Parts & Score Non US Address $110.95

Please note the size of the score is such that the shipping costs to addresses outside the US requires us to add an extra amount to the price in addition to the standard shipping price which will be added in the shopping cart.



Leave a Comment


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *